Paul J Koessler Scholarship

In 2008, the Buffalo Section started assisting the Buffalo and Fort Erie Public Bridge Authority with the administration a new student award, open to civil engineering students at the University of Buffalo, focusing on transportation and bridge design. The first award was given in 2009.

Paul J. Koessler was chairman of the Buffalo and Fort Erie Public Bridge Authority when he passed away in July 2008 at the age of 71. He served on the Board for eight years. Mr. Koessler was a successful businessman as former president and chief operating officer of Greater Buffalo Press. He was devoted to Buffalo and Western New York; a very involved civic leader serving on numerous boards and committees. He was committed to education, donating generously to educational institutions as well as many other philanthropic causes.

To apply for the Paul J Koessler Scholarship, please fill out the application.

Previous Award Winners

2017 Wil Nagengast
2016 Nicholas Curcio
2015 Adrianne Richardson
2014 Edward L. Almeter 
2013 Timothy Van Oss 
2012 Shawn J. Evilsizor 
2011 Timothy Kaiser 
2010 Petros Sideris 
2009 John Roach


2018 Koessler Scholarship Winner:
Zach Vacek